Going to Korea

Flying to Switzerland was easy. I am a nervous flier, historically. My stomach gets all upset and torn up. But getting on the plane to go to Switzerland was one of the most natural things I’ve done in a long time. I felt the same way when I went Belize last summer. It was like falling in love, which I always feel is akin to coming home.

I’ve only been in love twice in my lifetime, which is shocking considering the long line of boyfriends I’ve had over the years. I first fell in love when I was 23, and then again five years later. Both times, it was easy. Yes, I felt like I was coming home, but I also felt more like myself than I ever have before. I feel like myself single, but being in love, I feel accepted. It’s very liberating.

Upon my return from Switzerland, I had four interviews lined up for different language schools in Korea. I’d attended school with my cousin, who showed me what school abroad looked like. Suffice it to say, it was beautiful to see that education is still valued in some places around the world. I had a taste, and like most of international travel, I wanted more.

I was offered a job immediately after my first interview. It was good paying, and located in Seoul. But I didn’t have an overwhelming sense of peace about it. I asked for more time to consider the offer. I interviewed with a second job, another school in Seoul, and I didn’t receive an offer right away. I knew I’d have another chance with my two other interviews lined up, so I didn’t sweat it. I knew God was going to either open or close doors. Two days later, I interviewed with a woman at a school in Incheon, a city just west of Seoul, and a port town. There’s a beach there. And mountains are nearby. It’s beautiful, according to Google images.

I did a Skype video interview with the director of the school, who is a Christian woman, according to my recruiter. She was a beautiful Korean woman with red lipstick and a smiley disposition. I respect women who wear red lipstick. Usually interviews for schools are about twenty to thirty minutes, but we were on Skype for nearly an hour. She asked me all sorts of questions, both personal and professional. While we chatted, I sensed that if we’d been in the same room, we’d later become friends, and I always say the best interviews are the ones where you walk away feeling like you just had a conversation with a friend.

I knew I’d receive an offer, and I did within the hour.

I accepted.

 

The next day, I signed my paperwork and scanned it to my recruiter’s office. And that was that. In less than 24 hours, I made a major life decision to sell all my belongings and relocate half way around the world to Incheon, South Korea. I didn’t talk with anyone about it, really. I didn’t make a Pros/Cons list. I just signed the paperwork and sent it over. I wasn’t nervous, either.

It was just like boarding a plane.

It was just like falling in love.

Leave a Reply

